What You Can Learn from Dr. Seuss

images

“One fish, two fish, red fish, blue fish.”

“Say! I like green eggs and ham! I do! I like them, Sam-I-am!”

“Look, sir. Look, sir. Mr. Knox, sir. Let’s do tricks with bricks and blocks, sir.”

Dr. Seuss has been a part of my life since I can remember (probably around when I was two). His unique way of writing captured my attention and always had me begging for more. I remember that an entire shelf of my bookshelf was devoted to Dr. Seuss books and every night, before bed, I would choose one for my mom to read. And after she finished, I always asked for her to read another, which usually didn’t happen. To this day, I still have my collection, which probably includes about 35 different Dr. Seuss books.

Dr. Seuss. He’s an amazing children’s book author. So as adults, what can we possibly learn from him? Believe it or not, his easy to read rhymes offer inspirational advice for people of all ages. Here are the top five lessons you can learn from reading your favorite Dr. Seuss book.

5. Today I shall behave, as if this is the day I will be remembered.

You may be thinking, “What does this mean?” Well it means that no matter what, you should act your best everyday because you never know who will remember you on any given day. You could meet your next boss or your future significant other, so you always want to be on your best behavior. You never know who you could be impressing.

4. Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don’t matter and those who matter don’t mind. 

You will quickly learn, if you haven’t already, that there are people in this world who are just cruel and will do anything to bring you down. These are the people that don’t matter. You simply have to tune them out and not let anything they do or say affect you. On the other hand, you have the people in your life that truly matter and these are the people who will always like you. So no matter who you are around, act like yourself because the people who matter will like you the way you are and those who don’t matter, well, that’s just it – their thoughts don’t matter.

3. You have brains in your head. You have feet in your shoes. You can steer yourself any direction you choose. 

This one is simple. Only you have the ability to choose your destination and create your success. Take advantage of the right opportunities.

2. Why fit in when you were born to stand out?

Now this one may just be my favorite. Being a Canuck living in the heart of the American Midwest, I already stand out, and quite frankly, I enjoy it. But I also make sure to stand out professionally as well though. I work hard in school to keep my grades in the top 5 percent of my class, I volunteer my time to student and professional organizations, I participate in valuable internships and I jump at any positive opportunity presented to me. So don’t just become another follower, stand out and become the leader you were meant to be.

1. Today you are You, that is truer than true. There is no one alive that is Youer than You. 

Be yourself. That is all.

00-dr-seuss-message-27-10-13

 

Leave a Reply

