Home is Where the Heart Is

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

My whirlwind beginning of July has come to an end. From flying to New York and back, to Regina, to Kelowna and then back to Regina, I’m now on my way back to reality in Kansas City. But as I sit and wait in the ground floor of the Toronto Pearson airport (they literally stuck us in the back corner), I find myself reminiscing of the amazing 10 days I was fortunate enough to spend with my family.

Regina, Saskatchewan

After barely making it to Kansas City International Airport on time, I found myself in the heart of the prairie only 5 hours later (pretty quick flight if you ask me). Of course my family was waiting (signs and all) for me at the door, prepared to charge through the crowd to give me the biggest bear hug barely after I walked through the door. I guess it’s good to know that I’m loved, A LOT. Now I knew that was going to happen, but nothing could have prepared me for what would happen as I walked out the airport door. BUGS, BUGS, BUGS – like you can’t even imagine. Sure there has been lots of rain and flooding in the area, but I never would have imagined that many mosquitos attacking me, trying to suck my blood like miniature vampires. It was awful. Needless to say, I ran like Usain Bolt to the car.

Yorkton, Saskatchewan

Wow, it was so nice to be home. When I live in an apartment complex for most of the year, coming back to the family farm is pretty much life-changing. There is literally a never-ending amount of space to run around, yell and do whatever the heck I want. If you haven’t had the chance to experience this feeling, become friends with a farmer – even if it’s just for the day. So, I had three days in this wonderland before I flew off on another summer adventure with my parents. Most of the time flew by, as I spent it packing up my room and getting everything straightened out for my parent’s move later this year. But it was quite fun looking through all of my old toys, collectibles and such. And as always, I paid a visit to my dentist and hair dresser (two necessary appointments I make whenever I go home). I spent some time with the grandparents (playing cards of course), tanned outside on the deck (or at least tried to before the bugs chased me back inside) and ate some delicious poutine at my favorite bar and grill. And sooner than later, I was paying another visit to the Regina International Airport.

Kelowna, British Columbia

The last time I was in B.C. was too long ago to really remember. I think I was 6 when we took a family trip to the beautiful resort in Panorama. So I really had no idea what to expect when we landed in Kelowna. But it was definitely a pleasant surprise. The city (of about 100,000) is located in the Okanagan valley, in between beautiful mountains and is split into two areas by the Okanagan Lake. The weather is perfect – warm with no humidity – and there were literally no bugs! Within two minutes of stepping outside, I knew my parents had made the right decision to move here and it made me want to move here as well! Most of our time was devoted to ensuring the new house was being built to my parent’s liking, but we did have some down time each night to enjoy what the area had to offer. We took a cruise on the Okanagan Lake, toured the Mission Hills winery (and tasted the wines as well), spent an afternoon visiting my dad’s aunt, did a little shopping at the Orchard Park mall, walked in the water along the City Park Beach, took an evening stroll downtown and of course, enjoyed driving everywhere possible in the convertible Camaro that we rented. Those four and a half days went by extremely fast, but it was one of the best family vacations I’ve been on.

Regina, Saskatchewan

And here I find myself again in Regina. Luckily, my flight came in early enough that I could meet up with one of my best friends, Peter, for drinks and a tour of his engineering projects and new home. It was a rather quick visit (about two hours), but I’m so glad I was able to catch up with him.

Yorkton, Saskatchewan

Look at that. I’m back in Yorkton, for one day. Yes, ONE DAY. I finished packing up my room, packed my suitcase, synced music onto my mom’s iPod, did some homework, relaxed and played some cards outside on the deck, ate a delicious meal of ribs, potatoes and green beans, had a quick visit with my grandparents, took a 3 hour nap and what do you know, I was on my way back to Regina.

Unfortunately, the security line at YQR was ridiculously long, so I wasn’t able to eat breakfast with my parents. But it was nice that they waited until my flight boarded so that I could wave goodbye to them. So now the countdown is on. Five more months until I graduate and I will be reunited with my amazing family. And hopefully I’ll be able to find a job in B.C. so I can be close to them and the new Canadian Gem that I discovered, the city of Kelowna.

Leave a Reply

