Use Those Lazy Summer Days to Your Advantage

My summer = internship, work, school, volunteering, exercising and a little bit of relaxing. This weekend, I’ve found the time to enjoy myself, have a few glasses of wine, catch up on my TV episodes and FaceTime my parents, which was great. But these kinds of days don’t happen very often. With each day that I grow older, I realize that my summer vacations become shorter and shorter. Gone are the days of enjoying 2-3 months of fun in the sun. This year, I was fortunate enough to have a full 2 weeks of vacation, which I took full advantage of – relaxing and spending time with my family.

Now some people may say, “What do you mean you only got two weeks vacation? You get weekends off too!” But I don’t spend my weekends the way normal people would. Rather than laying out by the pool, drinking the night away, or spending hours watching TV, I spend my hours researching and reading, in order to get ahead.

Screen shot 2014-07-27 at 10.22.20 PM

While summertime can be considered “lazy days,” it’s actually the perfect time to up your game and advance your career. So here are 5 tips for how to use those lazy summer days to your advantage.

Get outside! (and exercise)

Let me guess. You’re New Year’s Resolution was to get back into the gym and lose those last five pounds? But after the month of January, you found yourself going to the gym less and less. Well instead of indulging in that mimosa (or beer) with your friend this afternoon, get adventurous and go enjoy a bike ride, a hike, a swim or any other type of activity that will get you out of the house and make you sweat.

Research and Learn

Is there a specific job you really want? A new country you want to visit? Or just a topic you’re really interested in? Well spend your day utilizing all of your resources to research whatever it is you want to know more about. With me, my dream job is to work in the auto racing industry, so I spend my weekends scouring the internet and library in order to learn everything there is to know about it. Because the more I know, the better chance I have for making my dream a reality.

Volunteer

Everyone knows that a résumé without volunteer experience isn’t really a résumé at all. In fact, most employers won’t even take a second look without it. So if you find yourself with nothing to do on a Saturday, skip the beach and volunteer at a local charity. It will give you something to do and you’ll feel great about doing it too because you’re giving back to your community.

Prepare

Take the day to prepare for something in the future. It could be something as simple as you’re next trip to the grocery store, or something as exciting as you’re next vacation. But taking the time to sit down and prepare for a future event will make you feel as though you’ve accomplished something. Plus, it will save you time down the road.

Work

Now working on the weekend isn’t exactly on the top of everyone’s list, but this kind of work will help you get ahead. Use the afternoon to find organizations that you’d enjoy becoming a part of, internships you’d like to apply for and future jobs you’d enjoy holding. By doing this, you’ll figure out what may be needed of you in the future, giving you ample time to learn and master all the skills. And joining organizations will help you with your networking skills. Who knows, you may just meet your future employer!

So next time you have summer day (or lazy day in any season really), take part in an activity that could out you ahead. Use your time wisely and become the best person you can possibly be.

Leave a Reply

