Give Thanks With a Grateful Heart

Since I moved to the United States, I’ve had to adapt to holidays – meaning losing some Canadian ones and gaining new American ones. Over the years I’ve grown to understand and enjoy Martin Luther King Jr. Day, Independence Day, and Veteran’s Day, but one I have never gotten used to is Thanksgiving. Yes, we have Thanksgiving in Canada, but we celebrate it in the middle of October, which in my point is much smarter because you have time to work off all that food you ate before you feast again at Christmas. But with American Thanksgiving, you barely have three weeks and you’re stuffing your face with the same foods all over again. And by the time the last week in November arrives, it’s usually too cold to go outside and partake in traditional Thanksgiving activities, like a game of family tackle football. To me, American Thanksgiving is just odd. I mean, who is really going to go outside to watch the Macy’s Day parade when its 25 degrees outside?

Thanksgiving is a national holiday during which people celebrate what they are thankful for during the year. In Canada, my family would often finish harvesting a few days before Thanksgiving, so we always had something to be thankful for. It was perfect timing. We can also be thankful that our holiday is early enough during the year that we don’t have to freeze while enjoying our long weekend. In America, universities have Fall Break, which lands on the week of Thanksgiving. Who wants to have a week off when it’s so cold outside that you can’t even enjoy your time away from school? Don’t get me wrong, the holiday is wonderful, but I just think the Americans might have been a little confused when setting the timing of this holiday.

But anyway, enough of my rant. I should be thanking America because I get to celebrate Thanksgiving twice a year now. (And yes, I FaceTime my family back in Canada while eating my Canadian Thanksgiving dinner.) Like I said earlier, Thanksgiving is a time to realize the good things in life and be thankful for them. This year, more than ever, I’ve realized just how thankful I am.

Everyday, I am thankful for something. Be it having milk in the fridge to go with my Cheerios or having my mom to talk to and calm me down when I feel I’m on the edge of a breakdown. So this Thanksgiving, don’t just be thankful for the obvious things, find something/someone who you might take for granted and look at it/them in a different way. Because really, we should be thankful for everything in life.

Leave a Reply

