Industry Talk: Healthcare

When I decided to pursue a career in public relations, I always imagined myself working in either the sports or entertainment industry, so I never really expected myself to end up in the healthcare industry. But honestly, I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Healthcare is a continually evolving industry. An industry that will never lose its importance. I guess the part that intrigues me the most, is the numerous opportunities it offers to enhance my knowledge. Each day I’m at the office, I learn something new, from some of the smartest people I’ve had the privilege of meeting and working with.

From spending only a short while in the fast-paced world of healthcare, I’ve filled my days with researching and reading regarding my firm’s clientele, but also about this year’s forecasted trends. As healthcare continues to evolve and move forward, here are the top trends dominating the industry in 2015.

1. Wearable devices
People are becoming more and more interested in tracking their steps, calories and sleeping patterns, and companies like FitBit, Nike and Garmin and creating devices that can do just that. With a very affordable price tag, these products will soon become a household must.

2. Mobile health apps
Mobile healthcare apps make diagnosis and getting treatment much more convenient and simple. Companies such as WebMD offer all the information patients need to know without having to make a trip to the doctor’s office.

3. Do it yourself healthcare
Consumers are always looking for new ways to do things themselves and digital technology is paving the way for this new trend. So expect to see 2015 full of new digital healthcare startups, especially a rise in mobile health apps and devices.

4. Privacy
Although consumers are looking for convenience and simplicity, they aren’t willing to sacrifice secure data or privacy. In fact, 65% of consumers state that data security is more important than convenience. So companies will begin looking for the perfect balance between offering convenience and keeping their patients’ information private and secure.

5. Big partnerships
Partnerships are increasingly important in the world of healthcare. And all companies are trying to get a piece of the action, whether it be with wearable devices or research for new technology and medicines. A recent survey stated that more than half of consumers would choose a healthcare company that partnered with others to improve success.

According to these trends, the healthcare industry is in a great place, with new innovation just around the corner. So if you’re thinking about a career in public relations or communications, I’d definitely recommend giving the healthcare industry a try.

References:
pwc.com
Fortune

Leave a comment